Reshaping Editorial Design
Editorial design can be used to convey complex stories in captivating ways in the form of magazines, news, books, web design, graphic novels or infographics.

PUSH

New channels and platforms are changing our communication, and with it editorial design. Through these channels, content can be told in new ways that are exciting, intelligent and interactive.

How can you as a designer use the new possibilities of animation, interaction, networking or AI to advance important topics?

BOUNCE

Discussions around sustainability, diversity, digital transformation, science and many other issues are increasingly encountering communication boundaries.

What can new editorial design do to make these boundaries more permeable?

DROP

If you are curious, like unconventional solutions and want to discuss, explore and implement new paths with other designers, then send us your portfolio.

Apply for the Master of Communication Design in Mainz: 'PUSH BOUNCE DROP - Reshaping Editorial Design'.

Over the course of three semesters you will lead discussions, participate and collaborate in workshops with external guests, undertake field trips, organize a conference and develop new editorial design.

Starting in the second semester, you will persue your own individual topic chosen from the wide field of new editorial design, this will be concluded it in the third semester with your master's thesis.

MA Communication Design

The MA Communication Design program at Mainz University of Applied Sciences trains up to sixteen bachelor and diploma graduates in the field of cross-media design practice and research. The goal is to expand design, conceptual and organizational skills.

Visual authors

As "visual authors", designers assume responsibility for content, reflect social, technical and cultural contexts in their designs and organize extensive design projects in teams. The skills required for this are taught in the Master of Communication Design within the framework of complex design projects and the development of an independent Master's thesis.

Design in Mainz

The city in which Johannes Gutenberg once invented typography is now home to one of Germany's largest design departments, consisting of communication design, interior design and time-based media.

24/7 Workplace

Each student is provided with a workspace accessible 24 hours a day in a master's floor set up for this purpose. Here you can work in a team: Printer, beamer, internet, kitchenette, etc. are provided by the university; you should bring your own computer.

Workshops

All workshops of the department are open for creative experiments: Photography, Interactive Workshop, Digital Printing, Screen Printing, Bookbinding, Computer Pools and an extensive library. Other workshops such as model making, light laboratory or wood workshop are also accessible.

Study and family

Mainz University of Applied Sciences has been awarded the "Family-friendly university" certificate. All students are guaranteed childcare places for children from the age of six months. For further information, please contact the Equal Opportunities Officer at Mainz University of Applied Sciences.

Career prospects

Graduates of the master's program work as freelance designers or in management positions where a high degree of professional and personal competence is required. In addition to independent, entrepreneurial work, possible career fields include art direction, creative direction, communication design in education and research - in agencies, publishing houses, design offices, cultural institutions as well as advertising agencies, media houses and design departments. The degree "Master of Arts" is also a prerequisite for doctoral studies and enables a career in higher service.

Application procedure

Applicants must have completed their studies with an overall grade of at least "good" (2.5) in a design-oriented bachelor's or diploma program. The application itself follows a multi-stage procedure: Submit the application for participation in the aptitude procedure.
For the portfolio check, upload a folder bearing your name and containing a PDF with your portfolio and a text file here. In the text file write your name and mail address.

After a successful portfolio check you will be invited to the oral exam and have to apply online in parallel. Applicants with a foreign degree must submit their transcripts via Uni-Assist.

Info event

An information event with portfolio consultation for this Master's program will take place on April 29, 2022 at 2:00 p.m. at Mainz University of Applied Sciences, Rheinstraße 19, 55116 Mainz, room R2.03 (iLab).

Also on April 29, 2022 from 4:00 p.m. there is the possibility. to participate in a virtual info event via Zoom. Please prepare an appropriate PDF if you would like to receive portfolio advice on this occasion.

Contact

studierenden­buero­@hs-mainz.de

Application deadline

Monday, June 15th, 2022
Resume, portfolio and
application for the eligibility process

Admission interviews

Thursday, June 30th, 2022,
Friday, July 1st, 2022

Online study place application

by July 15th, 2022 at the latest

Start date

October 3rd, 2022

Degree

Master of Arts
January 2024

DE EN

Reshaping Editorial Design
Editorial Design kann als Magazin-, News-, Buch-, Web-Design, Graphic-Novel oder Infografik komplexe Themen mitreißend erzählen.

PUSH

Neue Kanäle und Plattformen verändern unsere Kommunikation und damit auch das Editorial Design. Auf diesen Kanälen lassen sich Inhalte auf neue Art span­nend, intelligent und interaktiv erzählen.

Wie kannst Du als Gestalter:in die neuen Möglich­keiten von Animation, Interaktion, Vernetzung oder KI nutzen, um wichtige Themen voran­zubringen?

BOUNCE

Diskussionen rund um Nach­haltigkeit, Diversität, digitalen Wandel, Wissenschaft u.v.m. stoßen immer häufiger an Grenzen von Kommunikationsblasen.

Was kann neues Editorial Design dazu beitragen, diese Grenzen durchlässiger zu machen?

DROP

Wenn Du neugierig bist, unkonventio­nellen Lösungen magst und Lust hast, mit anderen Gestalter:innen neue Wege zu diskutieren, zu erkunden und umzusetzen, dann schick uns deine Mappe.

Bewirb Dich für den Master Kommunikationsdesign in Mainz: ›PUSH BOUNCE DROP – Reshaping Editorial Design‹.

In drei Semestern wirst Du Diskussionen führen, Workshops mit externen Gästen erleben, in Werkstätten arbeiten, Exkursionen machen, eine Konferenz veranstalten und neues Editorial Design entwickeln.

Ab dem zweiten Semester widmest Du dich einem eigenen Thema aus dem weiten Feld des neuen Editorial Designs und wirst es im dritten Semester mit deiner Master-Arbeit abschließen.

MA Kommunikationsdesign

Der Maasterstudiengang Kommunikationsdesign an der Hochschule Mainz bildet bis zu sechzehn Bachelor- und Diplom­absol­ven­t:innen auf dem Gebiet der medienübergreifenden Gestaltungspraxis und -forschung aus. Ziel ist es, gestalterische, konzeptionelle und organisatorische Fähigkeiten zu erweitern.

Visuelle Autor:innen

Gestalter:innen übernehmen als »visuelle Autor:innen« inhaltlich Verantwortung, reflektieren in ihren Entwürfen soziale, technische und kulturelle Zusammenhänge und organisieren umfangreiche Design-Projekte in Teams. Die dazu nötigen Fähigkeiten werden im Master Kommunikationsdesign im Rahmen komplexer Designprojekte sowie der Entwicklung einer eigenständigen Master-Arbeit vermittelt.

Design in Mainz

Wo Johannes Gutenberg einst die Typografie erfand, befindet sich heute einer der größten Gestaltungsfachbereiche Deutsch­lands, bestehend aus Kommunikationsdesign, Innenarchitektur und Zeitbasierte Medien.

24/7 Arbeitsplatz

Jede/r Studierende erhält einen täglich 24 Stunden zugänglichen Arbeitsplatz in einer dafür eingerichteten Masteretage. Hier kannst Du im Team arbeiten: Drucker, Beamer, Internet, Kochecke, etc. stellt die Hochschule; einen eigenen Rechner solltest Du selbst mitbringen.

Werkstätten

Alle Werkstätten der Fachrichtung stehen für gestalterische Experimente offen: Fotografie, Interaktive Werkstatt, Digitaldruck, Siebdruck, Buchbinderei, Computerpools und eine umfangreiche Bibliothek. Weitere Werkstätten wie Modellbau, Lichtlabor oder Holzwerkstatt sind ebenfalls zugänglich.

Studium und Familie

Die Hochschule Mainz wurde mit dem Zertifikat »Familien­gerechte Hoch­schule« ausgezeichnet. Allen Studierenden werden Betreuungsplätze für Kinder ab sechs Monaten garantiert. Weitere Auskünfte erteilt die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte der Hochschule Mainz.

Berufliche Perspektiven

Absolvent:innen des Masterstudiengangs arbeiten als freiberufliche Design­er:innen oder in Leitungspositionen, in denen ein hohes Maß an fachlicher und personeller Kompetenz gefragt ist. Neben einer selbstständigen, unternehmerischen Tätigkeit sind mögliche Berufsfelder die Art Direction, Creative Direction, Kommunikationsdesign in Bildung und Forschung — in Agenturen, Verlagen, Designbüros, kulturellen Institutionen sowie Werbeagenturen, Medienhäusern und Designabteilungen. Der Abschluss »Master of Arts« bildet zudem die Voraussetzung für ein Promotionsstudium und ermöglicht eine Laufbahn im höheren Dienst.

Bewerbungsverfahren

Vorausgesetzt wird ein mindestens mit der Gesamt­note »gut« (2,5) abgeschlossenes Studium in einem gestaltungs­orientierten Bachelor- oder Diplomstudiengang. Die Bewerbung selbst erfolgt über ein mehrstufiges Verfahren: Stellen Sie den Antrag auf Teilnahme am Eignungsverfahren.
Zur Mappenprüfung laden Sie einen Ordner, der Ihren Namen trägt und ein PDF mit Ihrem Portfolio und einer Textdatei enthält hier hoch. In die Textdatei schreiben Sie Ihren Namen und Ihre Mail-Adresse. Nach erfolgreicher Mappenprüfung werden Sie zur mündlichen Prüfung eingeladen und müssen sich parallel online bewerben. Studienbewerber mit ausländischem Studienabschluss müssen ihre Zeugnisunterlagen über Uni-Assist einreichen.

Info-Veranstaltung

Eine Info-Veranstaltung mit Mappenberatung zu diesem Masterjahrgang findet am 29. April 2022 um 14.00 Uhr an der Hochschule Mainz, Rheinstraße 19, 55116 Mainz, Raum R2.03 (iLab) statt.

Ebenfalls am 29. April 2022 ab 16.00h gibt es die Möglichkeit. an einer virtuellen Info-Veranstaltung per Zoom teilzunehmen. Bereiten Sie bitte ein entsprechendes PDF vor, wenn Sie bei dieser Gelegenheit eine Mappenberatung erhalten wollen.

Kontakt

studierenden­buero­@hs-mainz.de

Bewerbungsschluss

Montag, 15. Juni 2022
Lebenslauf, Portfolio und
Antrag zum Eignungsverfahren

Aufnahmegespräche

Donnerstag, 30. Juni 2022,
Freitag, 1. Juli 2022

Online-Studienplatz-Bewerbung

bis spätestens 15. Juli 2022

Studienbeginn

3. Oktober 2022

Abschluss

Master of Arts
Januar 2024

DE EN